Ted Talks: Jill Bolte Taylor: My stroke of insight

I just don’t even know where to start with this one.
I first heard of this video a in 2010, few years after my mom was hit by a car while crossing the street. My mom had/has a traumatic brain injury.
Because the brain is so complex and such little is known about it, the most comparable injury suffered in the brain is a stroke. My sister in law recommended this video, I think she thought ‘this person fully recovered so maybe mom will too’.
For some reason though, it wasn’t until 6 months ago that I finally watched this video, while doing my 200hr TT.
There is so much I find moving about this video, I’m not even sure where to start or how to even explain any of it, or if I should even try!
Our brains are what stop us from finding bliss, nirvana, samadhi and our brains are what deliver us to bliss, nirvana, samadhi. Ummmm…
The more I watch this video, the more I feel the experience of attaining bliss or oneness with the energetic world surrounding us is possible. Then, the minute I stop watching it I think ‘what the heck just happened’.
How can we be so locked into understanding something and then poof – it’s just gone. Do you ever feel like you are just sooooooooo close to an out of reach concept and then poof – it’s gone.?
It’s happened before. I was on the M train, probably not long after I watched this video the first time, I know it was during my TT. I was on the train and for a brief moment or two, as I was looking around the train at the people, wondering where they were going or where they were coming from. I felt it, I felt connected to all of them, I felt like we were all ‘us’. All of us on that train were just energetic forms that form a much bigger energetic force that is the universe. I was so close to having the thought all sorted out, but then my stop came so I was like ‘later samadhi’ and I hopped off. Well, it’s wasn’t quite like that but I did lose the thought pathway to ultimate understand and bliss! I don’t know how – I wasn’t ready I guess. But, I got close, closer than ever before anyway and that’s a good enough sign for me. I’m on the path.

Here’s some music from my homies who know how I feel.
Geto Boys – ‘my minds playin’ tricks on me’

Leave a Reply

